Homicidal Aliens and other Disappointments by Brian yansky

Homicidal Aliens and Other DisappointmentsHomicidal Aliens and Other Disappointments by Brian Yansky

The reluctant hero from Alien Invasion and Other Inconveniences is back in all his droll glory — and this time the fate of humankind is on the line.

Jesse has had the worst year of his life. First a race of homicidal (but very polite) aliens invaded Earth, killing pretty much everyone and enslaving the few people left behind, including Jesse; his best friend, Michael; his sort-of girlfriend, Lauren; and the girl of his dreams, Catlin. Now Jesse is revered as some sort of Chosen One all because he managed to kill one of the alien lords and escape — even though he’s not really sure how he did it. But it’s hard to argue with the multitude of new talents he is developing, including (somehow) killing aliens with his mind and grasping glimpses of alternate futures. With thousands of aliens already on Earth and thirty million more about to arrive, Jesse has to decide whether to embrace his maybe-destiny before the world is completely destroyed. No pressure.

 

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Not very often I begin a review with LOL! but in this case I feel I must, so LOL!!!

First of all, this book begins with something interesting happening. I like that in sci fi and fantasy titles. Rather than there being a long setup of all the characters and unnecessary back story, the author tells it like it is and gets straight to the point. I respect that in a book.

Here are some of the things that I also loved about this book and what made me decide to give it a full five stars:

The humour. I dare you to read this book without laughing. The author uses a dry sort of comedy that is similar to my own, therefore I was appreciative of the many wry observations the main character made throughout.

Also, this is a book that you just want to keep highlighting passages in. There are so many hilarious quotes.

“I’m not the smartest guy when it comes to girls, but I’m smart enough to know that getting caught comparing your girlfriend to your mother is a poor relationship move.”

There were parts of this novel, particularly where the author spoke of “New America” that reminded me slightly of the same theme in Stephen King’s “The Stand.” I enjoyed it. It was refreshing to see an author use a post apocalyptic storyline and yet keep it light enough that you didn’t feel terrified and depressed during reading it.

Want a good book? Read this one. You can’t go wrong when there are aliens and awesomeness at the same time.

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher in cooperation with Netgalley.

Legends of Windemere: Prodigy of Rainbow Tower

Cover art by Jason Pedersen

Cover art by Jason Pedersen


If you have not heard, there is excitement in the air! Charles E. Yallowitz is about to release his second book, Prodigy of Rainbow Tower!!!!!!

 

If you haven’t had the chance to begin reading this series yet, I strongly recommend that you do..go…right now!

Book Description:

The action-packed, humor-filled, dramatic sequel to ‘Legends of Windemere: Beginning of a Hero’.

Battling through a demonic assassin and an army of monsters, Luke Callindor has survived his time at Hamilton Military Academy.  Now, Luke and his friends must leave the safety of the academy to escort Duke Solomon’s heir down the L’dandrin River and into the safety of the city of Gods’ Voice.  Joining them for this journey is Nyx, a powerful caster apprentice of Rainbow Tower.  With her talent for combat magic and her short temper, Nyx will prove to be a challenge for Luke and all of their enemies.

Who will survive the harrowing trip down the L’dandrin River?  And, who will be the one to break Luke’s trust?

Goodreads Link for Prodigy of Rainbow Tower:

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18171173-prodigy-of-rainbow-tower

Legends of Windemere: Beginning of a Hero:

Also, this is part two of a series, so this is the Amazon link for the first book.

http://www.amazon.com/Beginning-Hero-Legends-Windemere-ebook/dp/B00BL9GBU2/

If you would be so kind as to spread the word, I would greatly appreciate it. Tweet! FB it! Write your own post, reblog. Let’s get some books in hands!

Bestest beast book :)

In case you might have missed it,

Charles Yallowitz,

author of Legends of Windemere: Beginning of a Hero

Has just released a new book of fantasy poems.

This book showcases his talent at interweaving

prose with his phenomenal imagination. If you

haven’t picked up your copy yet, you may do so here

for only .99 cents!

Okay enough about you Charles. Sheesh. In case you are admiring the awesomeness of this cover and the idea of the claws of an unknown beast slashing through it, you can thank Charles’ wife for this. She did this cover. I have rarely met anyone as talented as she is, she can literally do just about anything without breaking a sweat. You can find her blog here:

http://myscrapmuseis.wordpress.com/

If you would like to have your family/event photos made into an unforgettable scrapbook, contact her. She really is very talented and has a truly incredible ability with visual perception and design.

The Flame in the Mist by Kit Grindstaff

Set in an imagined past, this dark fantasy-adventure is for fans of Philip Pullman’s The Golden Compass. Features  Jemma, a fiery-headed heroine held captive in Agromond Castle, yet destined to save mist-shrouded Anglavia.

Fiery-headed Jemma Agromond is not who she thinks she is, and when the secrets and lies behind her life at mist-shrouded Agromond Castle begin to unravel, she finds herself in a chilling race for her life. Ghosts and misfits, a stone and crystals, a mysterious book, an ancient prophecy—all these reveal the truth about Jemma’s past and a destiny far greater and more dangerous than she could have imagined in her wildest fantasies. With her telepathic golden rats, Noodle and Pie, and her trusted friend, Digby, Jemma navigates increasingly dark forces, as helpers both seen and unseen, gather. But in the end, it is her own powers that she must bring to light, for only she has the key to defeating the evil ones and fulfilling the prophecy that will bring back the sun and restore peace in Anglavia.–Description from Goodreads

Hardcover, 464 pages
Expected publication: April 9th 2013 by Delacorte Press
ISBN
0385742908 (ISBN13: 9780385742900)
edition language
English
You can find this book Here
My thoughts:
Okay–someone has to be telling untruths here…there is no way that this is a debut novel. This is too good to be a first book!”The Flame in the Mist” by author Kit Grindstaff is an incredible fantasy with all the elements you want in a fantasy read. Jemma is the perfect heroine to lead the way in this absorbing and well-written tale. She is strong and funny, smart and sassy–the epitome of what the young fantasy heroine should be.

I fell in love with her two rats, Noodle and Pie. Telepathic rats? Awesome. Fantasy needed that kind of creativity to redeem it.

This novel has a bit of a dark theme, but it is handled so well that it would be perfectly appropriate for the younger end of the YA market as well as the older. I’m 31 and I smiled all the way through it! One of the things that I found engaging about this book, is that the evil is relentless. The presence of the dark forces at work in this novel are always there, lingering just below the surface. This built up suspense and made for a wonderful pace to this story.

Along with a lot of creative and original descriptions, excellent character names and some fantasy appropriate humor, the dialogue in this novel is superior to that of many other authors in this genre. I love fantasy because it takes you away from reality and transports you to somewhere else. This book does just that. It enabled me to leave my worries behind and just have a really good time.

Honestly, this is the kind of fantasy that made me want to read fantasy in the first place. Loved it and can’t wait to see what is next!

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher.

The Mapmaker’s War released today!

  Ronlyn Domingue’s “The Mapmaker’s War”

was released today. You can find it by going

to:

Amazon.com

KOBO

Barnes&Noble.com

and you can find more places to purchase it by going to Goodreads

 

You can also go say hello to Ronlyn and find out more about her works by visiting her author site , located at http://www.ronlyndomingue.com/

 

If you love allegorical fantasy this book is one you won’t want to miss. It is entirely original and like nothing else you have read.

The Water Witch by Juliet Dark

 

The Water Witch (Fairwick Chronicles, #2)

Perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Elizabeth Kostova, The Water Watch is a breathtakingly sexy and atmospheric new novel of ancient folklore, passionate love, and thrilling magic.

After casting out a dark spirit, Callie McFay, a professor of gothic literature, has at last restored a semblance of calm to her rambling Victorian house. But in the nearby thicket of the Honeysuckle Forest, and in the currents of the rushing Undine River, more trouble is stirring. . . .

The enchanted town of Fairwick’s dazzling mix of mythical creatures has come under siege from the Grove: a sinister group of witches determined to banish the fey back to their ancestral land. With factions turning on one another, all are cruelly forced to take sides. Callie’s grandmother, a prominent Grove member, demands her granddaughter’s compliance, but half-witch/half-fey Callie can hardly betray her friends and colleagues at the college.

To stave off disaster, Callie enlists Duncan Laird, an alluring seductive academic who cultivates her vast magical potential, but to what end? Deeply conflicted, Callie struggles to save her beloved Fairwick, dangerously pushing her extraordinary powers to the limit—risking all, even the needs of her own passionate heart–Description from Goodreads

Paperback, 352 pages
Expected publication: February 12th 2013 by Ballantine Books (first published September 13th 2012)
ISBN
0345524241 (ISBN13: 9780345524249)
edition language
English
original title
The Water Witch
series
My review of “The Water Witch”
The Water Witch has a very Gothic appeal and the author has done a marvelous job sculpting an intriguing story around that dark theme. I loved almost everything about this book.

The supporting characters offer a nice contrast to the main character. The friendships described in this book are the kind we all hope for, where a person can be exactly who they are and always have someone to catch them if they fall. This was what made me feel closest to this story.

The plot was enchanting and I thought the story was executed wonderfully. The humor found throughout this book is the kind that makes you burst out laughing when you least expect it. This book was so easy to read and was the perfect way to keep me entertained for an entire evening.

I loved the dialogue and felt like I was right there, having a conversation with the characters. This is not a book that you feel like you are stuck on the outside of. The way it is written pulls you right into the middle. If you haven’t read the first book in this series, you can still read this one, although you may not understand all of the references.

The only thing I didn’t love about this book, was the main character’s indecision over her men. Honestly, was there a guy that she wasn’t attracted to? I felt that kind of took away from the potential romance of the story.

Otherwise, I thought this was wonderful and I would recommend it to any woman who loves romance and magic. I am anxiously awaiting the next installment.

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher.